Big changes coming…

I’m sitting here this morning in the room I’ve lived in for five years. It’s a cozy little room in a cozy little neighborhood. Recently, every time I shut off the lights and head to bed, I think about how I will only be doing that 30 or 40 more times and it feels strange. I’m quite attached to this place and I’m sad that I have to give it up, but I have to. Unfortunately, there’s no way to have my cake and eat it too. I’m trading my home in for a backpack.

2015-12-06 10.36.08

In 58 days I’ll be boarding a flight to Italy. It’s unbelievable that this trip is so close, since it’s existed in my mind as a fantasy for so long. I’ve been fascinated with other places since I was a 2 year old with a globe. But about seven years ago, as a college student, I read a book called Vagabonding by Rolf Potts. I don’t even remember much about it. Mainly it served to plant a seed in my head that such a trip was possible.

Then, after college ended five years ago, I was a fresh accounting graduate with no job, and I surfed the net looking at paid opportunities teaching English abroad. I probably could have done it then if I had the cojones, but I’m glad things worked out the way they did. I’m wiser, more confident, and more financially able now than I was then.

A year and a half ago I went through a breakup. We had a few differences, but one of them was the fact that I desired a trip like this and she just wasn’t interested. After that ended, I figured out how long it would take me to pay off my remaining college debt and save up for a nice long trip. A date was set. January 2016. Here we are, and other than the fact that I’m waiting until February, things are proceeding just as planned.

I’m very excited, but also I feel like right now I’m at Cedar Point, climbing the lift hill on the Magnum, bracing myself for the rough and sudden drop.

magnum_xl-200

2 thoughts on “Big changes coming…

  1. Nick…I just started reading your blog. It is amazing how you begin with your dream from childhood and how you turn it in to reality. It’like picking up a book you can’t put down. I look forward to following you on your journey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

