A Part of You Remains

I once got a fortune cookie that said “a part of you remains wherever you have been” and I remembered it this morning as I took a shower.

A part of me will always remain with this family, in this house, in this town a half an hour outside of Turin. It feels like only yesterday they picked me up after the orientation and brought me here, and now it’s time to go. I could never express how thankful I am for their hospitality, and how special it was to become part of their family for these three months.

IMG_20160501_150919

IMG_20160501_151031

We had a big lunch with all the family as well as the grandparents and the uncle and cousin this afternoon. I gave them all a thank you note, addressed to everyone, which hopefully expresses my gratitude to them. I plan on staying in touch over the years and I know we’ll see each other again someday.

Everyone: (Off-center because we used the timer and the camera is sitting on the mantle)

IMG_20160501_151634

Now it’s about 8:30 PM. In about 12 hours, I hit the road.

Leave a Reply

