Arrival in Campobasso

Today, I traveled by train from Rome to the Province of Campobasso. All of my great-great grandparents on my mother’s side of the family were from small towns in this small, rural province. Also, many many other Italian-Americans in the Cleveland area trace their roots here. It’s about two hours east of Rome and two hours north of Naples. I rented a bed and breakfast for the evening in the City of Campobasso, the capital city of the region. (A city of about 50,000 people.)

IMG_20160522_174338

The bed and breakfast is basically a private apartment and a very nice one at that, and I paid about $50 to stay the night. You could comfortably sleep a family of four here. I have a kitchen, a living room, two bathrooms, and a fantastic 3rd floor balcony to view the city. A lot more for your money than Rome or Florence!

IMG_20160522_191317

IMG_20160522_191331

Tomorrow I leave to head into a smaller town a few miles away and I’m staying at another B&B there. I really like this place and almost wish I would have done two nights here instead of one. I’ve been staying in hostels for 3 weeks and it’s fantastic to have some space to myself.

IMG_20160522_191456

I went for a quick walk and there were tons of people out and about for their Sunday evening passegiata (walk). The town had lots of restaurants open near the main square and lots of people of all ages enjoying the lovely weather, as well as some live music. It seems to be a lovely little city with some energy to it, and I am very glad it’s a nice place. I’m coming back to the city for 2 nights after the next 5 nights in the small village, so I can explore the city more then.

IMG_20160522_193535

IMG_20160522_193539

IMG_20160522_194404

There is still music playing, I can hear it from the windows. I feel like I’m missing out, but I had to come back to my apartment. I have work to do to prepare for the coming week, and also it was a good time to call my family. And I’m tired and looking forward to a good night’s sleep.

Leave a Reply

